Wu-Ki Tung Award for
Early-Career Research on QCD

Sponsored by the CTEQ Collaboration and Michigan State University

Description: The Wu-Ki Tung award is to recognize outstanding contributions made by early-career physicists on experimental or theoretical research on Quantum Chromodynamics. One or, in exceptional cases, two awards will be given annually, each with a monetary prize of $5,000, travel support to give an invited lecture to a CTEQ Summer School, and a plaque citing the contributions of the recipient. Nominations of candidates whose work has contributed to the interplay of theoretical and experimental research on QCD are especially encouraged.


Eligibility: Nominees must have received a Ph.D. in experimental or theoretical particle physics within the last seven years, excluding any career breaks, by the time of nomination.


Nomination & Selection Process:  The nomination should include the following:

The nomination materials should be downloaded by the nominator here.  

The deadline is September 15, 2022.  Nominations will remain active for one additional year and can be updated.


The recipient will be selected by the CTEQ Collaboration and will be notified in December 2022.


Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is an important goal for CTEQ.  Nominations of women and other members of underrepresented groups are especially encouraged.


Past Recipients:

2022: Yi Chen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Citation: "For improving the understanding of quark and gluon interactions within
                             different media through systematic studies and measurements of jet
                             substructure in electron, proton, and heavy ion collisions."

2022: Matthew LeBlanc, CERN

Citation: "For important contributions to the measurement of QCD dynamics
                             using jets and jet substructure, as well as for long standing
                             contributions and leadership in jet reconsruction and calibration."

2021: Phiala Shanahan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Citation: "For pioneering studies of long-wavelength and nuclear
                             non-perturbative QCD effects in discretized space and time,
                             and for applications of machine learning to lattice field theory." 

2020: Bernhard Mistlberger, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

         Citation: "For pioneering theoretical computations of multi-loop radiative
                             contributions for precision Higgs and electroweak physics
                             at hadron colliders." 

Valerio Bertone, University of Pavia
         Citation: "For innovative contributions to the precise determination
                             of parton distribution and fragmentation functions, and
                             for the development of cutting-edge software to perform global fits." 

Benjamin Nachman, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
         Citation: "For significant contributions to experimental studies
                             of jet substructure, and for the discrimination of possible
                             new physics signatures from QCD backgrounds using
                             jet substructure."

2017: Andrew Larkoski, Reed College
Citation: "For seminal contributions to the theoretical understanding
                             of jet substructure and to the application of that understanding
                            to the analysis of experimental data."

Ciaran Williams, State University of New York, Buffalo
         Citation: "For significant contributions to higher-order QCD calculations
                             for hadron scattering processes, and for their practicable
                            implementation for the analysis of hadron collider data."

Mikko Voutilainen, Helsinki Institute of Physics
         Citation: "For outstanding contributions to the development of innovative techniques
                             for jet energy calibration and the measurement of the inclusive jet
                            cross section at the D-Zero and CMS experiments."

Stefan Hoeche, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Citation: "For seminal contributions to the advancement of parton-shower event
                            generators and the development of novel matching schemes to exploit
                            higher-order QCD calculations."


Information for contributing to the Wu-Ki Tung Award Fund can be found here.
Questions may be directed to
Nikos Varelas

Last modified: Dec. 6, 2022 by Nikos Varelas